Titans Athletic News 
News Photo
67
VS
74
IU South Bend
Governors State University
Women's Basketball - Wed, Jan. 11, 2017

UNIVERSITY PARK, Ill. – The Indiana University South Bend Titans fell in a close contest on the road to the Governors State Jaguars, 74-67, at the Recreation and Fitness Center on Wednesday night. Vicki Gard (FR/Schererville, Indiana) led all scorers with 28 points, making 5-of-10 from long distance and 10-of-22 from the field.

Paige Avery (JR/Mishawaka, Indiana) was 6-of-14 from the field for 13 points followed by Lucy Presnal (SO/South Bend, Indiana) who added eight points in the loss.

The Titans and Jaguars had to earn their baskets during the first 10 minutes of action as both offenses answered each time the opposition scored. Neither team led by more than two points during the first quarter.

Governors State added to its lead, hitting a 3-pointer to start the scoring in the second frame. IU South Bend regained its lead at the 4:43 mark when Taylor Wesley (FR/South Bend, Indiana) converted a layup to give the Titans a 24-22 advantage. Later in the quarter Baleigh Carithers (FR/Middlebury, Indiana) extended the IU South Bend lead to seven with a triple. Carithers finished the night with five points. The Jaguars would slice the Titan lead to one point with an 8-2 spurt to end the half.

IU South Bend's offense went cold in the third quarter scoring just eight points to trail 48-40 going into the final quarter. The Titans cut the Jaguar lead to five multiple times but could not get any closer as they dropped their third consecutive contest to fall to 7-12 overall and 3-7 in Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference play.

The Titans return to action at home on Saturday, January 14 against Cardinal Stritch University. The game is set for a 1:00 p.m. ET tipoff and will stream live on RRSN.com

 
 
 
 
  Basketball 
 
 
 
 
 
Saturday, Feb 18
Women's Basketball
Wednesday, Feb 15
Women's Basketball
Saturday, Feb 11
Women's Basketball
Wednesday, Feb 8
Women's Basketball
Saturday, Feb 4
Women's Basketball
Wednesday, Feb 1
Women's Basketball
Saturday, Jan 28
Women's Basketball
Wednesday, Jan 25
Women's Basketball
Saturday, Jan 21
Women's Basketball
Wednesday, Jan 18
Women's Basketball
 
No Upcoming Events.
 
 
 
photo
photo
photo
photo
photo
photo