Titans Athletic News 
News Photo
Kayla George scored 18 points, but the Titans were unable to overcome Cardinal Stritch.
63
VS
52
Cardinal Stritch University
IU South Bend
Women's Basketball - Wed, Nov. 16, 2011
Kayla George (Peru, IN/Maconaquah) connected on four three-pointers and scored a game-high 18 points, but it was not enough as IU South Bend (2-4) fell behind early to 14th-ranked Cardinal Stritch and were never able to overcome the deficit, falling 63-52.
 
After a sluggish start for both squads saw the score tied at four nearly five minutes into the contest, the Titans picked up back-to-back scores from Lizzie Stapke (Highland, IN/Highland) to take a 8-4 edge. The Wolves answered, however, scoring the next five points to grab the lead.
 
After the teams traded baskets, the IU South Bend found itself with a one-point edge at 12-11, but it would be their final lead, as Stritch rattled off seven more consecutive points - the start of a 17-6 run - and pulled out to a double-digit lead with just over a minute remaining in the opening half.
 
George answered with a pair of free throws, and after a CSU offensive foul, Staci Funkhouser (McCordsville, IN/Mount Vernon) connected on a triple to pull the lead back to five. Stritch came up empty again on their next possession, giving the Titans a chance to pull closer yet, but Stapke came up short on another triple just before the halftime horn that would have made it a two-point game.
 
Nichole Sly (Niles, MI/Niles) opened the second half scoring with a pair of free throws to pull the Titans within three, but the Wolves answered again, scoring the next nine points to push their advantage back to double figures.
 
The Titans pulled to within four with eight minutes to play, but suffered through three empty possessions, allowing the Wolves to push the lead back to ten. They again closed the lead to four with 2:32 and 1:37 to play, but each time, CSU responded, holding on for the 63-52 win.
 
Leah Meyer (Goshen, IN/Northridge) and Sly each added eight points for the Titans, while Stapke nabbed four steals.
 
The Titans return to the court on Saturday, November 19, when they travel to Trinity Christian. Tip off of that game is set for 2:00 PM (EST).
 
 
 
 
  Basketball 
 
 
 
 
 
Tuesday, Nov 25
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 69
Holy Cross College 51
stats recap
Saturday, Nov 22
Women's Basketball
Wilberforce University at 65
(RV) IU South Bend 86
stats recap
Thursday, Nov 20
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 70
Andrews University 24
stats
Saturday, Nov 15
Women's Basketball
(RV) Indiana University Northwest at 64
(RV) IU South Bend 67
stats recap
Tuesday, Nov 11
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 66
Spring Arbor University 54
stats recap
Saturday, Nov 8
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 67
Olivet College 70
stats recap
Wednesday, Nov 5
Women's Basketball
Andrews University at 16
(RV) IU South Bend 94
stats recap
Saturday, Nov 1
Women's Basketball
(3) Indiana Wesleyan University at 72
(RV) IU South Bend 56
stats recap
Wednesday, Oct 29
Women's Basketball
(RV) Grace College at 80
(RV) IU South Bend 62
stats recap
Saturday, Oct 25
Women's Basketball
Lawrence Technological University at 49
IU South Bend 62
stats recap
 
Tuesday, Dec 2
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 8:00pm
(RV) Indiana University Northwest EST
Friday, Dec 5
Women's Basketball
(10) Purdue University Calumet at 5:30pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
Saturday, Dec 13
Women's Basketball
University of Saint Francis at 12:00pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
Tuesday, Dec 16
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 6:00pm
Calumet College of St. Joseph EST
Thursday, Dec 18
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 7:00pm
Goshen College EST
Saturday, Dec 20
Women's Basketball
Indiana University East at 12:00pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
Saturday, Jan 3
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 1:00pm
Wilberforce University EST
Wednesday, Jan 7
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 6:30pm
Olivet Nazarene University EST
Saturday, Jan 10
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 2:00pm
(6) Saint Xavier University EST
Wednesday, Jan 14
Women's Basketball
Trinity International University at 5:30pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
 
 
 
photo
photo
photo
photo
photo
photo