Titans Athletic News 
News Photo
Lizzie Stapke connected for 14 points, but the Titans dropped a road game to Roosevelt.
56
VS
53
Roosevelt University
IU South Bend
Women's Basketball - Wed, Jan. 25, 2012

Lizzie Stapke (Highland, IN/Highland) scored 14 points and pulled down seven rebounds, while Ashley Carson (Winchester, TN/Franklin County) and Nichole Sly (Niles, MI/Niles) each chipped in with nine points, but it wasn't enough as IU South Bend (8-13, 0-2 CCAC) could not withstand a late run, falling to Roosevelt 56-53.

The Titans came out of the gate quickly, scoring on their first two possessions to take a quick 4-0 lead. After the Lakers tied the contest, the teams traded scores, before IU South Bend went on a quick 6-0 run, sparked by a Stapke lay-in and a Sly triple, to take a 12-7 edge. Roosevelt answered, however, embarking on a 20-8 spurt that spanned better than 12 minutes to open up a seven point edge late in the first half.

The Titans had a response. An Emily Strilich (Valparaiso, IN/Boone Grove) jumper, followed by a Carson three trimmed the lead to just a pair and after Strilich came away with a steal with just six second to play, Stapke banked in a 30-foot runner to give the Titans a one-point lead - 28-27 - into the half.

The second half was much of the same, with the teams trading spurts. The Lakers started by opening up a 38-32 lead, only to see IU South Bend claw back to within two at 40-38. The Lakers scored the next five, pushing their lead back to seven, but the Titans stormed back once again.

A Stapke three sliced the lead to four, and after Courtney Simpson (Nappanee, IN/NorthWood) split a pair of free throws, Carson connected from long range again, tying the game at 45. The Lakers scored on their next possession, however, and the Titans were never able to close the gap.

Strilich led the way on the glass for the Titans, pulling down eight boards, while also leading the team with three assists.

The Titans return to the court on Saturday, January 28, when they host NAIA D1 #13 St. Xavier. Tip-off of that game is set for 12:00 PM (EST). A live video stream of the game will be available at www.iusbtitans.com.

 
 
 
 
  Basketball 
 
 
 
 
 
Saturday, Nov 22
Women's Basketball
Wilberforce University at 65
(RV) IU South Bend 86
stats recap
Thursday, Nov 20
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 70
Andrews University 24
stats
Saturday, Nov 15
Women's Basketball
(RV) Indiana University Northwest at 64
(RV) IU South Bend 67
stats recap
Tuesday, Nov 11
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 66
Spring Arbor University 54
stats recap
Saturday, Nov 8
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 67
Olivet College 70
stats recap
Wednesday, Nov 5
Women's Basketball
Andrews University at 16
(RV) IU South Bend 94
stats recap
Saturday, Nov 1
Women's Basketball
(3) Indiana Wesleyan University at 72
(RV) IU South Bend 56
stats recap
Wednesday, Oct 29
Women's Basketball
(RV) Grace College at 80
(RV) IU South Bend 62
stats recap
Saturday, Oct 25
Women's Basketball
Lawrence Technological University at 49
IU South Bend 62
stats recap
Friday, Feb 28
Women's Basketball
IU South Bend at 57
(15) Purdue University Calumet 91
CCAC Tournament Semifinal Round
stats recap
 
Tuesday, Nov 25
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 5:30pm
Holy Cross College EST
Tuesday, Dec 2
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 8:00pm
(RV) Indiana University Northwest EST
Friday, Dec 5
Women's Basketball
(10) Purdue University Calumet at 5:30pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
Saturday, Dec 13
Women's Basketball
University of Saint Francis at 12:00pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
Tuesday, Dec 16
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 6:00pm
Calumet College of St. Joseph EST
Thursday, Dec 18
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 7:00pm
Goshen College EST
Saturday, Dec 20
Women's Basketball
Indiana University East at 12:00pm
(RV) IU South Bend EST
Live Stats
Saturday, Jan 3
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 1:00pm
Wilberforce University EST
Wednesday, Jan 7
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 6:30pm
Olivet Nazarene University EST
Saturday, Jan 10
Women's Basketball
(RV) IU South Bend at 2:00pm
(6) Saint Xavier University EST
 
 
 
photo
photo
photo
photo
photo
photo